SHARE
TWEET

iihf rules 150, 183, 184, 185, 186

zoeclaire_ Apr 14th, 2019 (edited) 62 Never
Not a member of Pastebin yet? Sign Up, it unlocks many cool features!
  1. RULE 150 – INTERFERENCE ON A GOALTENDER
  2.     See also Rule 183 (Protection of a Goaltender) & Rule 184 (Goaltender and Goal Crease)
  3.     DEFINITION: A skater who uses any means to prevent a goaltender from playing his position.
  4.     i. A skater who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with or impedes the mobility of a goaltender who is in his goal crease, or who prevents the goaltender from playing his position, will be assessed a minor penalty.  
  5.     ii. If an attacking skater in possession of the puck, skating forwards or backwards, makes contact with the goaltender in the goal crease, and the puck enters the goal net, the goal will not count and the attacking skater will be assessed a minor penalty (for exception see Rule 183-iii). This rule also applies to penalty shots and penalty-shot shootouts.  
  6.     iii. An attacking skater who positions himself in front of the opposing goaltender and engages in actions such as waving his arms or stick in front of the goaltender’s face for the purpose of distracting the goaltender, regardless whether the attacking skater is positioned inside or outside of the goal crease, will be assessed a minor penalty.
  7.     iv. An opponent who prevents or blocks a goaltender from returning to his goal crease or bumps him unduly while the goaltender plays the puck behind his goal net will be assessed a minor penalty.  
  8.     v. An attacking skater may skate through the goal crease during game action so long as he doesn’t make contact with the goaltender. If he makes contact, or if the goaltender makes contact while backing up in his goal crease, the attacking skater will be assessed a minor penalty.  
  9.     vi. Incidental contact with the goaltender is permitted so long as it doesn’t violate situations set out in Rule 150-i-v.
  10.  
  11. RULE 183 – PROTECTION OF GOALTENDER
  12.     i. At no time is contact initiated by a skater with an opposing goaltender acceptable. As a result, the goaltender can never be reasonably responsible for expecting a bodycheck. Contact, whether incidental or otherwise, may be with a stick or any part of the body.
  13.     ii. A penalty will be assessed in every case where a skater makes unnecessary contact with an opposing goaltender. Incidental contact is allowed when the goaltender is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease, provided the attacking skater makes a reasonable effort to minimize or avoid such contact.  
  14.     iii. If an attacking skater is pushed, shoved, or fouled by an opponent so as to cause him to come into contact with the goaltender, such contact is not deemed to be contact initiated by the attacking skater provided the attacking skater has made a reasonable effort to avoid the contact.  
  15.     iv. An attacking skater is not allowed to jab, poke, or slash the goaltender’s glove whether it is on the ice or in the air after the goaltender has made a save.  
  16.     v. An attacking skater is not allowed to knock the goaltender’s stick out of his hand by any means.  
  17.     vi. While a goaltender is playing his position, his stick is considered a part of his equipment and it cannot be hooked, lifted, or checked in a way that interferes with his abilities. However, if he is using his stick as a skater to play the puck, he may be stick-checked.  
  18.     vii. A goaltender outside of his goal crease is not allowed to interfere with an attacking skater who is attempting to play the puck or to bodycheck an opponent.
  19.  
  20. RULE 184 – GOALTENDER AND GOAL CREASE
  21.     OVERVIEW – The goaltender’s ability to play his position is based on his ability to move freely in his goal crease. Although an attacking skater is allowed to skate through the goal crease, he runs the risk of incurring a penalty or nullifying a goal by doing so. Furthermore, any contact the attacking skater initiates with a goaltender, either directly or by pushing an opponent into the goaltender, also runs the risk of incurring a penalty or nullifying a goal.
  22.     i. If an attacking skater establishes position in the goal crease, play will be stopped and the ensuing faceoff will take place at the nearest faceoff spot in the neutral zone.
  23.     ii. An attacking skater who commits a foul on a goaltender, regardless of the goaltender’s ability to play his position or where the puck is being played, will be penalized.
  24.     iii. If a goaltender is outside his goal crease and an attacking skater prevents the goaltender from returning to his crease or prevents the goaltender from playing his position properly while a goal is scored, the goal will not count and the attacking skater will be assessed a minor penalty for interference.
  25.     iv. If an attacking skater is in the goal crease and initiates incidental contact with the goaltender, preventing the goaltender from playing his position when the puck enters the net, the goal will not count and no penalty will be assessed.
  26.  
  27. RULE 185 – GOALTENDER AND GOAL CREASE/GOAL ALLOWED  
  28.     i. If an attacking skater is in the goal crease at the moment the puck crosses the plane of the goal line and in no way affects the goaltender’s ability to make a save or play his position properly, the goal will count.  
  29.     ii. If a skater of the attacking team is pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending skater to cause him to be in the goal crease when the puck enters the goal net, the goal will count even if he makes contact with the goaltender unless the attacking skater had sufficient time to get out of the goal crease.
  30.     iii. An attacking skater who makes incidental contact with a goaltender out of his goal crease while both try to gain possession of the puck will not be penalized. If a goal is scored at this time, the goal will count.  
  31.     iv. An attacking skater establishes position outside the goal crease but in front of the goaltender, obscuring the goaltender’s sightline but making no contact. If a goal is scored, it will count (unless there is a violation of Rule 150-iii).
  32.  
  33. RULE 186 – GOALTENDER AND GOAL CREASE/GOAL DISALLOWED
  34.     i. If an attacking skater makes contact with a goaltender in the goal crease during game action, he will be assessed a minor penalty for interference. If a goal is scored at this time, it will not count.
  35.     ii. An attacking skater who makes intentional contact with a goaltender during game action will be assessed a minor penalty for interference. If a goal is scored at this time, it will not count.  
  36.     iii. If an attacking skater pushes an opponent in any way during game action which causes that opponent to make contact with his own goaltender, and a goal is scored at this time, it will not count.  
  37.     iv. If an attacking skater establishes position in the goal crease, obscuring the goaltender’s sightline but making no contact, and a goal is scored, it will not count.  
  38.     v. An attacking skater who makes contact other than incidental with a goaltender who is out of his goal crease during game action will be assessed a minor penalty for interference. If a goal is scored at this time, it will not count.
RAW Paste Data
We use cookies for various purposes including analytics. By continuing to use Pastebin, you agree to our use of cookies as described in the Cookies Policy. OK, I Understand
 
Top